Worst. Brewday. Ever.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mac21

Reaction score
Alright...so I'm doing a bit of venting in good nature about a terrible brew day to just make myself feel a bit better. I was brewing a belgian blonde for my buddies bachelor party. I'm a part time pastor so I don't make a ton of money and I keep my house pretty cold this time of year...fermentation doesn't do well at 60 for many of the brews I'm making so i brewed at a friend's house which is better insulated and has an affordable heating bill. So...here goes::mug:
1) Forgot the hops and have to drive an hour each way to my house to get them (no homebrew shops close by)

2) Forgot burner after getting the hops and had already mashed in...so didn't have two hours to drive back for the burner. Luckily another friend about ten min away had a burner.

3) My friend's burner wasn't powerful enough to bring the sevenish gallons to boil and so my wort only reached 115 degrees F.

4) Because it didn't reach boiling, it didn't boil off the gallon/gallon and a half to reach OG:ban:

So...all of this is the worst brew aka brewfail I have ever had. I was hoping to hear some other brew day fails to commiserate with! What stories do you have?! :tank:

Ouch! At 115 F you also didn't isomerize any of those hops, so you have pretty much zero IBUs... :(

My worst brew day in recent memory was an Oatmeal Stout I did last year. I had the first stuck mash I've had in a LONG time. Happened during recirc during the mash, so I had to run to the LHBS for rice hulls and then stir them in constantly for half an hour to get it to quit sticking.