will this work?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QueenOfBattle

Reaction score
So Im a One Gallon Brewer, and a complete NOOB. I went to my LHBS and grabbed a Hydrometer and tube and some other stuff needed. Looking at the size of the tube the hydrometer needed kind of worried me because I'm thinking Im only going to get about 10 bottles as is and the thief isnt small enough to grab an easy sample, kind of a PIA to use the racking cane and thumb method. Well after i bought all my stuff I needed (new air lock, rubber stopper, hydrometer and tube) the check out guy puts the stopper on my tube to help me carry all the stuff, i threw the air lock on top just for kicks, and we started talking about how it looked like a mini fermenter. Well the guy said instead of keep drawing out of my primary I might be able to get a gravity reading out of the tube if I kept the airlock on.
Alright everyone without laughing too hard, will this work? I thought if it did, it might cut down on the possiblity of exposing the whole batch to infection.

2013-03-16_18-05-55_790.jpg

It'll likely ferment at a different rate than the main batch. Just sanitize the hydrometer & tube so you can pour it back in after testing. I do that with the wort from OG test.

I've heard that this will work just perfectly, allowing you to keep an eye on your sg without taking multiple samples and risking infection. I believe it was called a "satellite sample" or something like that.

I think it would work fine. If you keep it in the same place as the fermenter and treated it the same.

You will probably have to spin the hydrometer each time you measure, as CO2 will cling to it and cause it to float higher. So you will not be able to get a continuous reading.