Will Pitching Goya Malta Yeast Starter Alter Taste?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jetsfan4ever80

Reaction score
So last night I made a yeast starter using Goya Malta - I've heard many success stories using Malta and I didn't have any DME on hand. This is my first time making a yeast starter. I used around two bottles of Malta and added enough water to get it to a gravity of around 1.04. Altogether it's around 2L of wort using White Labs 013 yeast. This will be used to make an Oatmeal Stout. My biggest concern right now is if I pitch the entire starter, will the Malta alter the taste of my beer? The stuff has a pretty awful smell. I'm starting to think I should have potentially skipped a starter entirely and dumped right to my batch. Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!

The stuff has a pretty awful smell.

Awful smell in what way? Unless the awful smell was caused by the starter being infected there are no concerns. Malta is pale malt, crystal malt and corn syrup which is almost an un-fermented Yuengling. As long as the starter is clean just chill and decant before pitching if you are worried about the malta influencing the flavor of your stout.

Awful smell in what way? Unless the awful smell was caused by the starter being infected there are no concerns. Malta is pale malt, crystal malt and corn syrup which is almost an un-fermented Yuengling. As long as the starter is clean just chill and decant before pitching if you are worried about the malta influencing the flavor of your stout.