Wild yeast cider - need help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kbloom

Reaction score
I’m a beginner and decided to make a cider from pears that we grow. I found a very simple recipe that basically said juice the pears, stick them in a growler and rubber band a coffee filter on top. It’s been about a day and a half and there is some stringy mold growing on top. See photos. What do I do? What did I do wrong?

Attachments

• B34D22FB-4755-4BC0-9F84-E80215B38DB6.jpeg
    B34D22FB-4755-4BC0-9F84-E80215B38DB6.jpeg
    73.6 KB · Views: 40
Hi, welcome to HBT.

I don't see anything that looks like mold in the photo. Could you get a better shot of what you think might be mold?

Looks like there's a lot of pulp in the juice. It'll probably overflow when fermentation starts.

At what temperature do you have it?

It’s really hard to get a good photo because of the glare on the glass. It looks like very faint white hair or cobwebs

Attachments

• BF7E5734-DB11-4EC7-BF72-FACD5DC4B986.jpeg
    BF7E5734-DB11-4EC7-BF72-FACD5DC4B986.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 28
Not sure the exact temperature, but I have it in a dark closet in an air-conditioned house

I would give a little more time and see what it looks like.

Last time I fermented using apple juice, it took about three days for the fermentation to really kick in. I was using beer yeast, not wild yeast.

It’s really hard to get a good photo because of the glare on the glass. It looks like very faint white hair or cobwebs
Hair-like growth definitely means it's mold.

Unfortunately that means it needs to be dumped. Mold is potentially dangerous.

As for what went wrong ...
Cooler temperature is best, around 50-60°F.
"Punching down" the upper layer of pulp a couple times a day would also have helped.