Which is more important?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DNKDUKE

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I need some advice. I am a newb AG brewer who would like to move away at some point, from the mish mash of equipment to a logical setup some day. So the question is, should I buy a pump that I may not use right away or a grain mill that I'll use immediately even though any grain I buy can be bought crushed.
Thanks.

I've been brewing for over 20 years and still don't use a pump. I use my Mill every brew day. But that is just me. I am quite satisfied with gravity feed for my needs, but like to be able to store grain, and the fact that grain is cheaper when bought whole.

I've been brewing for over 20 years and still don't use a pump. I use my Mill every brew day. But that is just me. I am quite satisfied with gravity feed for my needs, but like to be able to store grain, and the fact that grain is cheaper when bought whole.

Good points. Thanks CB.

Good points. Thanks CB.

Grain mill, definitely.

And 'Tis The Season - to treat yourself to a good one - so you only spend the money once.
You have our permission...

Cheers! ;)

I have a Barley Crusher which has worked great for me, but from everything I have read here, I would buy a Monster Mill if I had to do it again.

Mill also, I too have a gravity system. I wanted it simple and less expensive.

I use a corona style mill with good results. $25 - $50. When I move up ? sideways to a roller mill I will be going with a Monster Mill mm2 2.0. It is a little more than others but seems to be one of the highest regarded. They also have 3 roller models.