Where to (or not to) ferment in an apartment.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RogerDeRok

Reaction score
I'm still a beginner, have taken a brewing course and am still in the researching phase and haven't made my own batch yet.

I live in an apartment with no garage and am low on space. I know temperature is one determining factor on where to place my fermenting bucket, but what other factors are there in order to avoid contamination and infection?

Obviously I don't want to place it in a bathroom, but what about closets, laundry rooms, or pantries?

Anywhere you want. The cooler, darker, and less it will be moved the better. You just want it to sit there and do it's thing without being disturbed.

So being in a closet with clothes or in a room with washer and dryer won't hurt it? I originally planned to use our walk-in pantry but our kitchen garbage is also stored in there.

I wouldn't put it near the washer/dryer -- you want a cool, steady temperature. A bedroom closet would be better.

I live in an apartment also and put mine in the bathroom on the counter, never had an issue. I use the swamp cooler/ Tshirt method to cool and keep it within my target temps.

I live in an apartment and brew beer, mead and cider. I take a far more casual approach and don't worry about temperature at all. I would say I go for the rustic method.
I keep it in a closet that swings in temperature ~10 degrees. Probably not going to win any awards for my beer, but I like it and other don't seem to complain either.

I live in an apartment also and put mine in the bathroom on the counter, never had an issue. I use the swamp cooler/ Tshirt method to cool and keep it within my target temps.

What is the swamp cooler/ T-shirt method?