Where to ferment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhoppus

Reaction score
I know that I am a beginner and I lack a lot of equipment that you all have. I live in the midwest and am worried about my fermentation temperatures. I need to put everything in my unheated garage because my wife doesn't want me to make a mess of the house. That being said; where could I place my fermentation bucket and carboy so I don't ruin everything?

Ross

I know that I am a beginner and I lack a lot of equipment that you all have. I live in the midwest and am worried about my fermentation temperatures. I need to put everything in my unheated garage because my wife doesn't want me to make a mess of the house. That being said; where could I place my fermentation bucket and carboy so I don't ruin everything?

Ross

Convince her to use the spare Bath tub. Or get a tub, water and aquarium heater. You'll have to control temps in that garage some way.

Invest in a wine cooler that'll fit your carboy (off Craig's list for cheap) and build an STC-1000 controller for next time.

Do you have a room or closet or some area in which you can put a storage bin with water to hold your fermentor or 2? It's not pretty, and maybe ought not be placed out for all to see, but it's what most of us that can't afford the nice stuff have to do.

Is there a way you can hide it?

I have an empty bedroom where I could keep the fermentation temp at 60 degrees. Beyond that I am left to my garage and in the summer I'm afraid it might get to hot.

Ross

It would be much better to keep your fermentors where it's more constant and therefor easier to control your beer temps, unless of course you can afford the nice expensive temp controlling systems.