When to typically add orange peel..??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tophe

Reaction score
I've got an idea for a beer im going to make and i want to add orange peel to it to give it a little orange flavor.....When do you typically add this? Iwas thinking probably into the primary fermenter after the boil?

Tophe96 said:
I've got an idea for a beer im going to make and i want to add orange peel to it to give it a little orange flavor.....When do you typically add this? Iwas thinking probably into the primary fermenter after the boil?

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I would guess that you would have to add it during the boil, due to contamination. Formerly I was in the produce business, and I know that any fruit or veg. are loaded with pesticides, bacteria and other uglies. I would think the boil would kill any of that stuff. Just a guess.

That's an interesting point about the pesticides and other nasties....I would've chucked 'em into the secondary. I'm doing a Brown Ale right now that I plan to throw a couple vanilla beans in the secondary along with some almond extract...

you could always put the peel in a small amount of water and add a camden tablet - then throw it into the secondary. Anything added to the primary gets scrubbed pretty well by the fermentation - you can generally get cleaner flavors by adding anything that does not need to ferment after fermentation is complete

NUCC,

Are you going to cut and scrap the seed of the vanilla bean into the batch or are you going to just throw the bean in whole. Just curious. I have cooked with vanilla bean and to optimize flavor the recipe said to cut the bean lenth wise and scrape the inside of the bean and add it all.

jeffrideal said:
NUCC,