When to dry hop

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pfish83

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at brewing and I have decided I want to dry hop. I am making the brewer's best IPA. I transferred my beer to the secondary carboy on Friday (14th). Should I have dry hopped immediately after racking or is it not too late to do it tomorrow (20th)?

Second question...are Cascade hop Pellets good for dry hopping or do you guys suggest a different style?

Final question...I have some hop bags that I didn't use in the boil...would you suggest dropping them into the carboy or just dropping the pellets directly in?

Thanks.

I think you will get different answers from everyone. Some people will say they always dry hop for 7 days and other will say up to 14 days. Same thing on the bags. Some swear by them and others just toss the hops in the carboy. I just did my first dry hopped IPA (pellets) a couple weeks ago and I went with the bag weighted with marbles and am going to leave it for two weeks. The next one I will probably do something different just so I can see which methods I prefer and learn how different amounts of time impart more/less/different aromas.

HTH,
Jason

Edit: Cascades are fine for dry hopping. If you attach your recipe I'm sure others can help critique.

Should I have dry hopped immediately after racking or is it not too late to do it tomorrow (20th)?

When you dry-hop, you have two competing pressures: if you dry-hop during active fermentation, the CO2 being produced tends to drive off the hop aroma. If, on the other hand, you dry-hop after active fermentation has ended, the oxygen that's trapped in the hops will be transmitted to the beer, and result in staling.