What would you tell yourself?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronBeers

Reaction score
Hello All

Im very new to homebrew and the idea of the hobby in general - My first brew is currently bubbling away and its all very exciting! I've done a lot of readin and research and think ie got a reasonable understanding of the basic but ...

I just wondered - If you could talk to yourself at the start of your home brew hobby / life what advice would you give yourself? What the one thing you wished you knew when you first started?

I just wondered - If you could talk to yourself at the start of your home brew hobby / life what advice would you give yourself? What the one thing you wished you knew when you first started?

How hard it is to make bad beer. I really think that besides fermentation temperature control most things won't really impact your beer as much as you think. Small stuff will add up to change an OK beer to fantastic, sure, but it likely wont make bad beer.

There's like 90 threads a day of "is my beer ruined?" -- you'll quickly learn the importance of RDWHAHB. All will be fine.

To me, lessons learned
#1: Sanitation. Get acquainted with a sanitizer (i use starsan since its no rinse and I cant be sure its sanitized). Anything that touches your beer post boil needs to be sanitized
#2: temperature control, look into cheap methods of doing it or invest in a fermentation chamber

aside from that, most of everything else you do is just dialing in your process