What water to use to brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to brewing and have seen a few brewers recommending bottled water, mineral water, distilled water and others using municipal water. My town pulls water from Lake Ontario and the PH is between 7.02 and 7.38. There is a residual chlorine amount too. Would using town water to brew beer/make wine be a bad idea? If I buy bottled water, what am I looking for ie some mineral content, distilled? Thanks in advance for any advice you can pass on.

There is no magic water.

Extract or all-grain?

For extract, just about any water will work. Relatively low-mineral water is ideal.

For all-grain, you'll want water that you can predictably reach 1) proper mash pH and 2) overall levels for good yeast health, flocculation, and appropriate for the style. Some brewers have very reliable tap water. Others have seasonal swings depending on rainfall etc.

Stouts, American WC pales, New England Haziest, English bitters, German lagers. All different mineral levels and how to get there.

Extract? Just brew with your clean tap. Unless you live in a place like Phoenix with extremely hard water.