What type of fermenter do you use?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petrostar

Reaction score
The question is as basic as it sounds, I personally own a large quantity of glass five and six and a half gallon carboys but hate cleaning them because I do a lot of dry hopped beers. I also feel that six and a half gallon plastic buckets are much easier to clean, cost less, and are just easier to store in general. Curious what you long term Brewers have gone with. I've been brewing for several years now and have never once had an infection with any of my beers except for one beer that I did with all glass carboys so please don't bring that up, I don't believe its a real issue if proper sanitation is being used every time.

I've been brewing for 2 1/2 years and love the buckets. Easy to clean and store, plus they are lighter than glass, and won't hurt nearly as bad if I drop it as I won't have glass cuts too.

I switched to plastic a year or 2 ago after reading all the horror stories. Do not want to debate which is better. If you do buy any plastic ones, buy the vintage shop ones, they rack off way quicker and are easier to clean. Have less parts and are cheaper.

A good friend of mine severed his femoral artery when he dropped a glass carboy he just finished washing. So, while there can be a valid debate on whether glass or plastic is better, there is no debate as to which is safer. I still use a couple of ale pales that I got when I first started brewing, but only when my Better Bottles are taken.

I currently use glass carboys, but I feel that I've escaped fate thus far, so I just bought my first bucket! It's an 8 gallon bucket that'll be here on Monday, just in time for 7.5 gallons of oaked mild.

I use a Speidel plastic fermentor.