What to expect in taste or body change in finishing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grimes28

Reaction score
I'm new to all this and just tasted my batch of red ale I screwed up. Lol it's been in fermentation for 4 days and is pretty much done. Pretty much quit bubbling and is at 1.012.
My question is, what do I expect it to do Orr change throughout the finishing or carbonation process. Anyone have any thoughts on this, or is this one of those "depends on recipe" questions?
Just looking for a general idea response.
Thanks guys!!

I would leave it for at least another ten days. During these next ten days the yeast will clean after themselves, after which many cells will go dormant and drop out of suspension, clarifying your brew. Then, if your recipe doesn't require any dry hopping you can test the gravity, make sure it hasn't changed (or changed much) and if it hasn't you can bottle and allow to condition for at least another two weeks to fully carbonate.

Here is a good explanation of the process:

http://morebeer.com/articles/conditioning

I just had a beer with the same experience... my first brew. A belgian wit... after racking I took a sample to taste and it tasted like a watery blue moon. Really hoping the carbonation helps give it body!

I'm not exactly sure what you are claiming you screwed up on. 4 days is probably too early to declare fermentation is done (unless gravity readings have been 1.012 for several days, which would be a 24-36hr ferment) also the difference between a few final gravity points is not that significant, so don't sweat it (you should still end up with very good beer).