What size vessel for continuous brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnny42

Reaction score
I've been doing batch bottling for several years and am considering going the continuous brew method. I drink one bottle per day (12oz). I've searched on-line but can't find a recommendation. Here's my question...

What size vessel should I get? I don't want it to be too big that I can't keep up with consumption nor do I want it too small so that I can't consume what I want.

I simply can't calculate what size vessel I need but it's probably going to be 2 gallon or 3 gallon.

Feel free to expand on your answer.

I have a 2.5 gal crock with a spigot that is made for dispensing water from a 5 gal plastic bottle. I make 2 gal or so batches and it ferments for about 14-21 days depending on the temp. I get between 12 and 14 flip top bottles per batch.

I'm actually looking for the logistics on how to change over to Continuous Brewing of kombucha. (I posted in the kombucha forum). Hottpeper gave a clue.

I think I understand ..... make a 2 gallon (or so) batch and when it's ready to bottle, fill up 12 or so 16 oz bottles (I erroneously said I drink 12 oz per day. It's actually 16 oz - one bottle) leaving about a gallon of kombucha left in the vessel. Add more sweet tea to the 2 gallon mark and let ferment till ready. Meanwhile, I can drink the bottled kombucha.

I was sort of thinking when the 2 gallon batch was ready to drink, I could just dispense 16 oz each day for several days (let's say 4 days) and then add 1/2 gallon of sweet tea back to the vessel and continue like that.