What Size Auto-Siphon??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisRC1985

Reaction score
Hey all,
I am purchasing an Auto-Siphon this morning from Midwest Brewers.
They have a 1/2 and a 5/16, I am not sure which one to purchase?
I am using a 6 Gal Carboy, will either work, is one preferred and should I get the corresponding siphon clamp?

Thanks!

I'd say the bigger the better, and go for the clamp. Auto-siphons are great, but they take a while, just like most siphons because of the smaller tubing, so the bigger you go, the quicker you can rack, and the clamp will allow you to slow down the flow, or stop in the middle for any reason.

I own both auto-siphons (1/2" and 3/8"). I started with the smaller one, and I got the bigger one when I started brewing all grain to transfer cold wort from kettle to fermenter faster. It works OK for this purpose, and I thought that the bigger one would replace the smaller one for all my transfers, but it is not as easy to use as the small one:
* Since it contains much more liquid, it is heavier and harder to hold straight, without moving or disturbing the beer and the yeast cake in the fermenter.
* It is harder to prime. You really need that first pump move to be quick and strong, otherwise you need to pump again, which will disturb your beer.
* For some reason, a 1/2" tubing does not fit tightly on the 1/2" auto-siphon, which can add some air in the liquid if you don't clamp it somehow. I do not have this issue at all with the 3/8" siphon.

This is why I keep using the small one to transfer fermented beer, where I do not want to disturb or oxydize anything.

So my advice, get the small 3/8" one.