What makes a great American Wheat

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcgster

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm looking to brew an American wheat this weekend and it's my first time trying this style all grain. I'm looking for a recipe that would give me a good chance in a competition but when I look through the results from the NHBC table I see very few recipes for American wheats.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I certainly enjoy my fair share of American wheats but I have never built one from the ground up.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

All my favorite American wheat have a noticeable hop character.

I haven't made a wheat in a while but my recipe was something like this.

OG 1.050
IBU 25
50% two row
40% malted wheat
10% Munich

Aroma hop of your choice ( I had good results with Saaz, Liberty, centennial and Amarillo)
1/2 oz at 10 minutes
1 oz at flameout

Good fermentation for sure. Keep the beer refreshing, which usually means a clean finish, typically on the drier side for this style. If you use character smalls, use them sparingly.

I like to use hops like Willamette, Saaz, and Centential in my Wheat, but any good aroma hop is fine. Good examples have a nice hop character.

Do you have a recipe in mind?

I have a pack of Wyeast 1010 bubbling away in a yeast starter right now so that is what I plan on using for my yeast. What would you recommend for a ferment temperature. I have pretty good control of my fermentation temperatures using a water bath.