What is going wrong?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sgl

Reaction score
I started brewing last year and am about 15 brews in. I’ve made a couple beers I thought were ok but nothing I’d be too proud to serve. My beers haven’t had great flavour or hop aroma.

I’m not sure if its my process or if there’s something else that I could do to improve my beers. The closest homebrew club is a two hour drive away and I don’t know anyone else that would be able to try my beers and help me out.

I use biab and my most recent beer I attempted was a full volume 3.25 g pale ale using 6 lbs Maris Otter. I did a 30 minute boil using cryo mosaic and cryo citra.

0.1 oz citra at 30 min

.25 oz citra and .15 oz at 5 minutes

.65 oz citra and .6 mosaic whirlpool for 30 minutes at 160 f

1 oz citra and 1.25 mosaic dry hop for 3 days.

My water additions ended up around

100 calcium
20 magnesium
8 sodium
60 chloride
239 sulfate

I did a one hour mash at 152 and was able to keep it fairly close to that by turning my element on and stirring occasionally. I use bru’n water but my mash ph was reading a bit high around 5.7 so I added some lactic acid and my end of mash was reading 5.27. My OG was 1.052 and FG was 1.010

I cooled my wort to around 90 f and pitched Half a pack of Lallemand Voss kveik. My fermentation fridge was already in use so I put my bucket in a large cooler stood vertically in my garage and the temp stayed in the 80’s One day after pitching I decided to take a sample since I’ve never used kveik before and top crop some yeast. When I tasted it, I thought it tasted amazing lots of hop flavour and aroma and was excited to let it finish fermentation. 6 days later I cold crashed using a Mylar balloon for a couple days then transferred to a purged keg.