What in the hell is this?..Infection, maybe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scottlabadie

Reaction score
Here is a photo of a bottle of Siason that has conditioned in the bottle for 3-4 weeks. Beer taste great and is perfectly carbonated. I can't find any flaws. Pay attention to the side of the bottles? It doesn't rinse out I literately have to scrap it off. I have been brewing for 11 years and work in a commercial brewery. I have never seen anything like this. Apparently, neither has the head brewer or any of the local homebrew shops as well. Come on fellow brewers, Any ideas?

photo.jpg

photo-3.jpg

photo-4.jpg

Did you soak thr bottles with oxyclean? It looks like what we call oxyclean scale.

It's a combination of the reaction between oxyclean and minerals in water, as well as the residue evaporating. Usually it takes a soak in a weak acid, like a vinegar or lemon juice in water solution, or even starsan soak followed by a thorough rinse to clear it up.

Oxyckean is a cleanser not a sanitizer. It what we clean the bottles with. Did you clean them in anything before you sanitized them? If didn't it's probably something from the bottle manufacturing process, maybe a mold release agent.

When was the last time you used a bottle brush?
Every 3 or so batches I have to give the bottles a good cleaning with the bottle brush.

I only clean my bottles with a brush and hot water. I then let them soak in Idophor for sanitization. I don't use Oxyclean or anything before sanitation.

did you give up the bottle brush for a faucet washer/vinator ?

other guess since it looks like a cork/belgian bottle,
trichloroanisole cork fungus, you wouldn't even taste it in beer.

Interesting Amanda! No I do not use a faucet washer. I am too old school and set in my ways.