What happens if you don't mash out?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HHP

Reaction score
OK,

I brewed my third all grain batch a week ago today, and I didn't mash out.

Obviously, I am very new to all grain brewing, and new to these forums.

So, my setup is a keggle that I do every step in. I bring the water up to desired temp, add the grain, let sit, sparge, remove the spent grain, and finally boil all in the same vessel.

So my disaster:

When mashing out, my thermometer went haywire. It was a digital probe thermometer with a 3' probe and after about 10 minutes of heating, all of a sudden started reading 190 degrees.

At this moment I panicked and killed the heat. I also proceeded to sparge with cold water instead of hot water, because i thought that it was 190 degrees! While it drained slowly (after recirculating about 5 gallons), i realized that the thermometer was faulty. It is, as i write this sitting in a glass of room temp (72) water and reading 232.

I have come to the conclusion that I have no idea what temperature it was at any point after i started heating it up to mash out temp.

It is currently sitting in two buckets, that have been fermenting for 7.5 days, and have gone from 1.064 to 1.045 (measured yesterday).

What might have happened to my wert?

Sounds like you did a mash out. The main purpose of a mash out is to de-nature the enzymes so they stop converting the starches. For most beer styles, this isn't a concern. The more conversion, the better.

You're screwed, I would take it out back and dump it out. Not really, at the mashing out point your stopping conversion of sugars. I think you'll be fine, especially if it's fermenting. Like everyone will say, RDWHAHB.