Quantcast

What do you do with your spent grains?

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Echo2112

Reaction score
Chuck em in the trash? Compost pile? Just wondering what everyone else does with the grains the use.

Scut_Monkey

Reaction score
I have been throwing them out on the two all grain batches that I have done so far. I'm new to brewing so I don't have any answers but I feel that composting them would have to be advantageous. I just have not done so because I don't know if it makes good composte. I would assume it would..... right?

OP
Echo2112

Echo2112

Reaction score
I would think so, I don't have a compost box or bin, so I have actually spread mine on my rose beds. But after several batches, I think I should lay off of that. I have raked the grains in with my mulch there, but there is an odor issue sometimes.

I am just trying to figure out what else to do with the stuff, I have been ramping up my production schedule, and I don't want to throw the grain away if there is a good use for it.

tndave

Reaction score
I dump them into my garden spot and will turn them under if the ground will ever get dry. Then I will sart a compost pile.

Heyyyo

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've heard of people making dog treats out of them. Also have seen pictures of people putting them out for wildlife, deer and such.

I made a few PM batches when I had my squirrel and he seemed to enjoy the hell out of them...

I'd put a picture of'em but I'm not so sure I know how to do that.. And I might be a little :drunk:

irasnyd

Reaction score
I've been making bread with them. I'm still doing extract batches, so I don't have much grain. Also, so far lighter grains (from Pale Ale) have done better than grain from making Stout. I really like it, but I like multigrain bread.

My basic recipe is:
what was 1/2 lb grain before it got used
about 6oz water + 1tbsp sugar + bread yeast (starter)