What am I doing wrong?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CanuckHomeBrew

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been brewing for a couple of months now, I have an ok set up, 5 gallon cooler mashtun (only doing 3 gallon batches) 5 gallon Hot Liquor and 8 gallon brew pot (though I do have a keggle I am working on). I'm consistently getting 60% efficiency in my brews and I have no idea why. I will go through my process.

1) Warm mashtun up with some boiling water
2) Raise strike water to whatever temp the recipe requires and the amount the recipe requires
3) Remove water from mashtun and add strike water when its gone
4) Dough in grains stirring to make sure no clumps
5) Rest for time required by recipe (temperature holds within 1-2 degrees usually)
6) Raise sparge water to 170
7) when time is up vorlauf then sparge slowly around .75-1 qt/minute
8) batch sparge with first sparge resting for around 10 minutes
9) vorlauf again and sparge slowly
10) repeat 8 and 9 until complete wort is gathered
11) boil with the hop regimen

I was using a braided hose as a filter for my mashtun, just recent purchased and installed a false bottom hoping that would improve efficiency. Can anyone tell me if I am doing anything else wrong?

Try milling your grain finer or milling it twice. Also, I don't understand how you are doing both steps 7 and 8? Step 7 appears to be a fly sparge and step 8 a batch sparge. How exactly are you sparging?

Try milling your grain finer or milling it twice. Also, I don't understand how you are doing both steps 7 and 8? Step 7 appears to be a fly sparge and step 8 a batch sparge. How exactly are you sparging?