Water Report is unbalanced

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

mtom1991

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
6
I have entered all my values as mg/l as the Bru n Water spread sheet asks for, but it is still saying it is unbalanced.

The only value i haven't entered is Potassium as its not provided by my water quality report, but the spreadsheet says its not necessary.

1621051718091.png
 
OP
M

mtom1991

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
6
Municipal water reports are often published a couple times a year but testing is more frequent, IE the numbers you get are averages during a extended period of testing. They are not always super exact but most often close enough.
yeh I get that, the issue isn’t the numbers on the report or how they are collected/reported it’s putting them into the Bru n Water spreadsheet that’s the issue it’s not acknowledging them.
 
OP
M

mtom1991

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
37
Reaction score
6
So it refuses to do any calculations? I use mash made easy so I can't be of any help if that is the problem rather than the values themselves. You could always try to summon the Creator himself.
figured it out now, it actually wants you to type the unit in each cell along with the figure. Bit **** UI/UX
 

CascadesBrewer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
1,332
Reaction score
914
Location
VA, USA
figured it out now, it actually wants you to type the unit in each cell along with the figure. Bit **** UI/UX
Huh? You don't have to enter the unit. I suspect adding the units just makes the sheet not recognize the value as a number so they are all treated as 0.

The numbers on the left are Cations (a positive ion) and the numbers on the left are Anions (a negative ion). These join together (like Calcium Carbonate or Sodium Chloride). In reality the positive and negative ions in your water will balance each other out. The values in the "Ion Balance Results" section of that page will show how far they are off (unless that is just part of the paid version of the sheet).

I think the "out of balance" message is just a warning and does not prevent calculations from working.
 

mabrungard

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Feb 22, 2011
Messages
5,976
Reaction score
1,909
Location
Carmel
That is just a warning. The program still operates with the information you’ve entered. But it’s telling you that there’s probably some “garbage” in your input. Garbage in = Garbage out. Almost every other calculator lets you go into blissful ignorance by not checking to see if the inputs are balanced and valid.

Do make sure that things like alkalinity, sulfate, hardness, and nitrate are in their “true” concentrations. I notice that the nitrate content is a bit high. Is this an agricultural area?
 
Top