Want to Brew IPA Tomorrow, Hop Advice?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mx750ktm

Reaction score
I purchased a Brewers Best IPA. I also bought some additional hops. I plan to use the LME,DME, and specialty grains as a base recipe for starters. I Had a beer this past weekend which was 3 Floyds Pride and Joy. There's another thread here which takes a stab at which hops they use for this beer.
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f36/help-me-clone-three-floyds-pride-joy-mild-457541/
His attempt he felt came up short on hops. All I know from the brewery is that the abv is 5.5% and 42 IBU
So this is my first attempt at throwing together a hop schedule and would like someone to see if I am on the right path or if I have to many hops. I wouldn't say the beer was super hoppy.
This beer is 3 Floyd’s American “Mild” Ale. With a more assertive hop profile that British Milds and a relatively low alcohol content this is a great session beer that still has Pale Ale characteristics. Pride and Joy is a golden color with a fruity nose and a light caramel sweetness to balance the crisp finish. A truly refreshing ale that drinks easily.
One more Question I have read some people do late additions of either the LME or DME. For a beer like this in color would it be a good idea to add some of the malts towards the end of the boil? If so how much should I save for the end? And what time left in the boil should I do this at?
Any advice is appreciated
xphk.png

Your hop schedule falls within the guidelines for an American IPA (I am getting 43.7 IBU from Beer Smith). I think you are going to find with that much crystal that you may want more hop bittering. Do you like a sweet tasting IPA?