Vanilla maple stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colinzeye

Reaction score
I've been a chef for 15 years and have been brewing with my girlfriend for a much shorter period of time now. However I am intrigued by the idea of incorporating the culinary ingredients I am so familiar with into brewing. We decided on a stout with flaked barley to enhance the creaminess with vanilla beans. Living in NYS we have an abundance of maple syrup in the coming months, and we want to add it in as well, to both add apv, but also as a flavoring and aroma ingredient. My question is where do we add it? I was think 15 minutes before the end of boil.

Even if you add it @ flame out the majority will turn to fermentable sugars... at least in my experience. I add Maple @ flame out. Maybe a waste but I like to think it's worth it. You can also add maple syrup to secondary, I would cold crash and transfer beer on top of maple syrup in the secondary. I have had good results as far as maple flavor using this method.

Edited to add/ disclaimer: I keg and don't worry at all about bottle bombs, obviously adding a high dose of maple syrup and then trying to naturally carb in the bottle by adding yeast would be a bad idea = bottle bombs.

Even if you add it @ flame out the majority will turn to fermentable sugars... at least in my experience. I add Maple @ flame out. Maybe a waste but I like to think it's worth it. You can also add maple syrup to secondary, I would cold crash and transfer beer on top of maple syrup in the secondary. I have had good results as far as maple flavor using this method.