Using the "1-2-3 rule" in small batch brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inawa

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a few months now. Strictly 1 gallon batches. I've been reading a lot about the average time to spend on primary fermentation, secondary, bottling. Many brewers suggest using the "1-2-3 rule" (1 week in primary, 2 weeks in secondary, 3 weeks bottle conditioning).

I'm assuming, since most people consider 5 gallon batches the standard, that this rule is more catered towards 5 gallon and does not typically apply to 1 gallon batches. Additionally, using a secondary with 1 gallon seems pointless. But maybe that's just me.

I know the best way to determine whether fermentation is finished, regardless of volume, is to take a gravity reading (which I do, works greats). But what about bottle conditioning? Theoretically, wouldn't a smaller volume batch convert sugars faster? (Not sure if it makes a difference but I only brew ales)

TLDR: Does bottle conditioning from a 1 gallon carboy take less time than bottle conditioning from 5 gallons? If not, why? If so, how long do you typically condition a 1 gallon batch?

THANK YOU!

No, time to finish has nothing to do with batch size.
And don't ever bother using a secondary unless you are aging for several months, or adding fruit.

No, time to finish has nothing to do with batch size.
And don't ever bother using a secondary unless you are aging for several months, or adding fruit.

What are some factors that determine conditioning time? Temp, yeast, etc.?