Using Sumac for Tannins

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

capaneus

Reaction score
I was reading in Cider: Making, Using & Enjoying Sweet & Hard Cider, Third Edition that some people use staghorn sumac to emulate the tannic (and to some extent acidic) qualities of juice made from cider apples.

Does any one here have any experience with sumac or other tannic adjuncts like tea?

I'll be starting out with a sweet cider with great acidity but lacking much tannin..and I'm looking to develop that some more.

I have some experience with Sumac. Now I don't go within 10 feet of it.

My house cider recipe uses tea to simulate tannins, one cup of strong black tea per gallon, made from an irish or english breakfast tea. Make sure it's not Earl Grey, that has other stuff in it, and use the fine-grain non-loose stuff, as you want to extract tannins, and the large-leaf loose stuff does not do this. Recipe in my pulldown.

Poison Sumac isn't the same as Staghorn Sumac :p

If you can get your hands on the fruit, it is edible and can be crushed to make juice. I don't know if the book is referring to the leaves or the fruit, but the leaves and stems are very high in tannin. If you don't have access to the plant, you can always use grape tannin powder. It's readily available at most brew shops.

By the way I really like that book. I like how it discusses traditional methods of cider making. It seems like a lot of people just want to use apple juice, and although more time consuming, making a cider from scratch is fun.

I think crab apples are a good way to add tannin, though they vary a lot in their tannin levels. Most crabs also have high sugar levels as well.