Using hydrometer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

daveooph131

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
34
Location
Dallas, TX
I know...I know...I'm a fricken noob.

I'm trying to take my first gravity reading from the primary and I don't think I'm doing something right.

So it's been ferementing two weeks...grabbed a sample and filled my test tube thing about half way full, is that too much?

My reading was at 1.080 but that can't be right.
 
OP
daveooph131

daveooph131

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
34
Location
Dallas, TX
Also just sampled some, not to bad. It's suppose to be a Bev. Hefe and the taste is there maybe a little water down, but all and all for only two weeks I'm thinking it's on track.
 

ifishsum

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
1,447
Reaction score
10
Location
Portland OR
I fill the sample tube up 2/3 to 3/4, otherwise the hydrometer bottoms out.
 

ericm

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
210
Reaction score
0
you can't really fill the tube too much (as far as taking an accurate reading; you can fill it 'too much' so that some spills out when you put the hydrometer in; and you in effect waste more beer, but it won't make the reading inaccurate - as long as it's freely floating you're good)
 
OP
daveooph131

daveooph131

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
34
Location
Dallas, TX
OK finally got it...the hyrdometer is finally freely floating, I guess I didn't have enough in the tube at first. THanks guys!
 

ChshreCat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
11,517
Reaction score
586
Location
Camano Island
I always put my hydrometer in the sample tube and then fill it until the hydro moves.
 
OP
daveooph131

daveooph131

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,123
Reaction score
34
Location
Dallas, TX
I always put my hydrometer in the sample tube and then fill it until the hydro moves.

That's what I did on my second attempt, and YES much much better results :)

I felt like an idiot when I was getting a reading of 1.080...I was about to throw up my hands and say crap you don't deserve to be in the hobby.
 

JohnnyO

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
8,998
Reaction score
918
Location
Hamden
That's a good idea about putting the hydrometer in first. I hadn't thought of that.

Thanks!
 
Top