Using cocoa nibs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SRJHops

Why did the rabbit like NEIPA's so much?
Reaction score
The latest Brew Your Own mag has tips on using cocoa nibs in the mash, boil, and secondary. I'm going to give it a go with a chocolate dubbel, 5 gallons.

It's my first time using cocoa nibs and I'm looking for some advice. I've got 20 ounces. I plan to use maybe 4 ounces in both the mash and boil, and 12 ounces via vanilla-vodka tincture in secondary.

A few questions:

Do I need to worry about bitterness and/or perceived bitterness/astringency from the nibs? The guy at the LHBS said not to use them in the boil for this reason. I plan to target the low end of the IBU's for the style, but could go lower if I'm going to get bitterness from the nibs.

I have seen comments about the fat oil from the nibs, and skimming it off from the tincture. Is this correct?

Any other thoughts/advice about using the nibs? The sample recipe in BYO called for even more than 20 ounces, but they are not cheap and I didn't want to pony up for more...

These days most beers with cocoa nibs are pastry stouts where the nibs are poured into barrels or a bright tank without concern for fat content.

I'm not certain if astringency or bitterness is an issue with boiling nibs but I don't know why that would be the best use because you risk boiling off the more delicate flavors. I guess that could be something you would want to do. The best cocoa flavor IMO comes from cold side additions either in a tincture or adding them directly to the beer. The one time I soaked nibs in spirits I didn't have any appreciable fat content to remove.