Used Regulator Leaking - No o-ring or washer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hawkeyes

Reaction score
I just purchased a used keezer and I'm trying to figure out the Regulator. There is no O-ring or Washer between the regulator and the c02 tank. There is a massive leak when I turn it on no matter how tight I have the regulator on the tank. I'm new to this and I'm assuming the o-ring or washer was lost at some point. What exactly do I need?

photo5.jpg

photo6.jpg

Put one of these on the valve for the tank or get one of these and put it on where the regulator and tank meet. I have the leak stopper item on all my CO2 tanks that I can install it onto. I also get my tanks refilled, so I don't lose it. If you swap your tanks, just be sure to remove it before you do. Might be a good idea to get a few extra of either, just to have on hand.

BTW, most homebrew supply stores (such as your local one) should have either/both of these items...

It needs a fiber washer, not an o ring. Any place that fills co2 will sell it.

It needs a fiber washer, not an o ring. Any place that fills co2 will sell it.

Actually, those plastic o-ring things are great and better than a fiber washer. The fiber washers don't last very long. I have both the plastic flat thing (around a quarter at the LHBS) and the fiber washer and like the plastic thing much better.

Actually, those plastic o-ring things are great and better than a fiber washer. The fiber washers don't last very long. I have both the plastic flat thing (around a quarter at the LHBS) and the fiber washer and like the plastic thing much better.