Upgrading equipment for the budget-conscious brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guinness10

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a beginner brewer, just 2 batches under my belt thus far, and I'm already looking to upgrade some pieces of my brewing kit.

I currently have a 5 gallon aluminum kettle, so can't really do full volume boils, and don't have a wort chiller.

Northern Brewer is selling this 7.5 gal kettle and burner kit, which I know is not going to be of the highest quality, but the price is right to help me get quick full-volume boils.

I could also pick up a stainless steel immersion chiller and all three items would (barely) fit my current budget.

The other option would be to go for a better quality/more expensive kettle up front, but maybe not have enough for either a chiller or burner after that.

So what does anyone think - upgrade more pieces of the brewing kit, even if they're not the highest quality (or even mid-range quality), or shoot for quality right out of the gate, even though that may mean not having something like a wort chiller (which seems like it might be pretty indispensible if doing a full-volume, 5 gal boil)?

Thanks for your time and opinions!

Pot 40qt Pot 60qt (I vote this if you can swing an extra 10$)
Burner

Chiller

All better all cheaper and you wont have to buy a new pot when you upgrade to all grain. However temperature control is extremely important especially with summer around the corner it is by far the best thing you can do to make better beer. You can go as cheap spare bathtub with ice in it to fermentation chambers but I would highly consider looking into it if you don't have something already.

Last edited by a moderator: