Trying to make 120 min IPA Dogfish Head clone- i need help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have a kit that will make a 90 IBU 7.2 ABV (Hoptimus Prime) with the following hops: citra, millennium, and Amarillo. I really want to try and emulate the Dogfish Head 120 minute IPA which would means 120 IBU and raising the ABV to around 17. I am a beginner at this so I am just wondering if anyone has tried this and have any tips on how to do this.

I have a recipe that shawn paxton from the brewing nation did for 120. I haven't tried it yet but i did a world wide stout clone that under goes the same type of fermentation schedule. I can post the beer smith recipe for either if you'd like or i can type it out if that's easier.

I saw some other posts about the dogfish 120 clone I would check them for some pointers in the recipe. I will have to check for some world wide clones.

Also, just to clear up an issue I see. 120min has way more than 120 IBU (on paper at least) There are a ton of hops in that beer and it will be off the charts IBU-wise. Ignore IBU numbers for this brew and just throw hops at it till you are blue in the face. Haha. There are a few clone recipes floating around. Homebrew Chef: 120 Minute IPA Clone Recipe Being one of them

Homebrew Chef: 120 Minute IPA Clone Recipe

I wrote my own ww stout recipe so it's not very close but I can explain the basic process for both to you.