tropical red ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RayRay69

Reaction score
hiya guys,
I'm really new to brewing i have graduated making beers with the cans through to using the can malts to adding hops and now im going to do my first using specialty grains and malt extracts... i really like the tropical fruity flavours of certain beers and want to make a tropical red ale, here is recipe i found off google and thought i would run it past you guys to see what you thought and any adjustments i can make

1.7kg (3.7 pounds) of liquid malt extract light
1.0kg (2.2 pounds) of dry malt extract light
0.450kg (1 pound) of crystal 40 @ 70L
0.225KG (1/2 pound)of caramunich II @ 120L
0.113KG (1/4 pound) of carapils @ 5L

hops bill
14g (.5 oz) centennial 10 a/a 30min boil
14g (.5oz) amarillo 6.6 a/a 15min boil
28g (1oz) centennial 4 day dry hop
28g (1oz)amarillo 4 day dry hop

Yeast
1 pkt of Safale s04 or us-05 i havent decided yet what are your guys thoughts?

O/G 1.056
ABV 5.5%
Bitterness 18 IBU
colour 11.7 SRM

I planned on steeping the grains for 60 min at 150F ( forgive me is thats wrong as i am so very new so insert eye rolly emoji here).... what do you guys think of a 24hr cold steep? i'm not really into bitter beers hence the low IBU however homebrewing is all about experimenting until you find the perfect recipe right

Do you think i should add more hops? what other hops will give me an awesome tropical flavor?
Will i get a nice red hue with the grains ive chosen?

28g (1oz) centennial 4 day dry hop
28g (1oz)amarillo 4 day dry hop
Do you think i should add more hops? what other hops will give me an awesome tropical flavor?