Total Newb From Waco, TX

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshua79

Reaction score
First and foremost, thanks to anyone who offers some advice/criticism…

My wife bought me a 1 gallon west coast IPA kit from Craft Beer as a gift for my first crack at home brewing. Pretty much a total success. Beer fermented well, and tastes delicious.

Needless to say it ignited something inside me and now I’m slowly procuring equipment to do my first 5G brew. I’ve read a lot of great threads on this forum, so I’m gonna continue my first 10 or so brews with extract kits to get familiar with the process. I’m all about IPA’s, Lagers and Stouts.

That being said, I now have…

2 Plastic 5 gallon Carboys (used)
2 Airlocks (1 used, 1 new)
Coil Chiller with pump (used)
Auto-siphon (used)
Hydrometer (used)
Star San
2 bottling sticks (1 new, 1 used)
24 new 12 oz bottles (I know I need more)
Bottle caps
Bottle capper
30” Stainless Steel mixing spoon (used)
BIAB bags (used)
Beer bottle dryer (enough for 3 cases of beer)
Mesh Strainer
All the tubing I could possibly need (used)

In my house I have the perfect closet for fermenting…temp varies between 68-72 consistently, and it’s totally dark.

What I still need is a brew kettle with spigot, a propane burner to actually brew the wort, and perhaps a sample syringe device. Looking for recommendations. Too many options online to just choose one and my local home brew shop is 2x’s the price of anything I see online.