Too many water additions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ABI Brewery

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
H2O.PNG
View attachment 591914 Is it possible to have too many water additions, I dont want to sound like an idiot but I did some calculations on brewers friend and it seems there is a lot of additions. It is for a 10 gallon system, is it just me or is this allot, I have never done water calcs before so some help figuring this out would be nice.

Last edited:
Yes, it's possible to have too much of a salt(s) added to water.
What style of beer is this for? Are you using RO water?

Do you know the mineral content of your tap water? Hard to adjust your water if you don't know what you're adjusting.

So it looks like the water profile in your OP doesn't include what's already in your water?

I wouldn't add any Magnesium salts, as you've already got 18ppm Mg. Also, you're at nearly 100ppm Bicarbonate, which is significant. Don't add the baking soda that you have in the OP. That leaves you with raising the Chloride from 12ppm to 50ppm and Sulphate from 7ppm to 150ppm using Calcium chloride and Gypsum.

1g per gallon of Calcium chloride (dihydrate) adds 72ppm Calcium and 127ppm chloride.
1g per gallon of Gypsum adds 61.5ppm Calcium and 147.4ppm sulphate.

Putting in the chloride first, we need to add 38ppm, which is 38/127= 0.3g/gallon. This also raises the Calcium from 18ppm (source water) to 18+0.3x72 = about 40ppm.

Adding gypsum, we 143/147.4 = close enough to 1g/gallon. This also raises the Calcium from 40ppm to about 100ppm, which is a bit higher than your target but, IMO, quite acceptable.

So your finishing water (with 0.3g/gallon Calcium chloride and 1g/gallon gypsum) is:
Calcium 100ppm
Sulphate 150ppm
Chloride 50ppm