To Stir Or Not To Stir...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SirPublius

Reaction score
I know this is probably a question for the cider room...but I'm a newbie, and there are far more people in here it seems. I currently have a few 1 gallon jugs of cider I just started. I should know this, but should I stir them everyday, or just let them sit? I thought I read somewhere that they should be stirred once or twice a day...I just want to make sure if I stir it that it won't mess with it fermenting. Is one way preferable to the other....stirring or not stirring?

Do not stir them. The yeast stir it themselves. Stirring adds oxygen and can affect the flavor negatively.

Do not stir them. The yeast stir it themselves. Stirring adds oxygen and can affect the flavor negatively.

+100. If you stir after fermentation begins, you'll oxidize the cider (something to be avoided). If you pitched enough yeast, leave it alone and keep it in a favorable temp range, the yeast will have no trouble munching through the sugars in the apple juice.

Hide yo kids, hide yo wife (at least if you are fermentable) because the yeast will find you.

Just let them sit. As others have said you will oxidize the cider and it wont taste right if you stir it. I make a hard cider every fall and I always just let it sit for about 3 weeks, back sweeten, bottle, let it sit for 3-4 days then check the carbonation. If it's carb'ed I throw all of them in the fridge so they don't explode (if you don't pasteurize)

I make a hard cider every fall and I always just let it sit for about 3 weeks, back sweeten, bottle, let it sit for 3-4 days then check the carbonation. If it's carb'ed I throw all of them in the fridge so they don't explode (if you don't pasteurize)