Tips for a simple lager style ale.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerDaddy94

Reaction score
Hey I am very new to brewing and i just finsished my very first batch. Its an ipa which is ok but id really like to try to make a simple 1 gal batch of lager style ale. Any tips or suggestions or recipes?

Last edited:
Are you able to ferment around 50F and then lager below 40F?

No unfortunately i dont think i would have the ability to maintain the right temperature for an actual lager. But I was wondering if there was maybe an lager like ale that i could try to make. I guess I forgot to put that in the description haha

Hey I am very new to brewing and i just finsished my very first batch. Its an ipa which is ok but id really like to try to make a simple 1 gal batch of lager style ale. Any tips or suggestions or recipes?

No unfortunately i dont think i would have the ability to maintain the right temperature for an actual lager. But I was wondering if there was maybe an lager like ale that i could try to make. I guess I forgot to put that in the description haha
Some folks ferment 34/70 lager yeast at ale temps with great success. I've yet to try it, but theres a thread on the forums dedicated to it.
I can't brew legit lagers until winter, but when I get the pull to brew one, I use Wyeast 1007, or Nottingham dry yeast. I prefer the former over the latter, but they're both really clean, especially if kept on their lower end (58-62 for me). It'll never be a true lager, but it will sort of feel like you're getting there. White labs 029 is another option. Its technically a kolsch yeast, but ferments well in the mid 60s.