Thoughts and Opinions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnFenn

Reaction score
So I am new to making hard cider. I started two months ago and I’ve made one batch since that time. I have another going as of now. The batch I’m working on had a OG of 1.080 and I just measured and it’s at 1.034. I know it’s supposed to be done when it hits 1.000 but how much longer should I be expecting and do I need to add more sugar? It’s been over a week for fermenting and it’s still is cloudy. Is there anything I can do to speed up the process and to make the cider clearer? I’m using Cotes des Blanc yeast if that helps at all.

At least another week. Pretty high starting gravity. Some yeast nutrient might help.

You will not need more sugar.

All the Best,
D. White

Did you add any sugar at the start, as it seems a bit high? Most apple blends will end up at 1.050 to 1.060 with crabs sometimes being as high as 1.080.

Anyhow, my expectation when starting at 1.050 is for a week or two of turbulent fermentation down to 1.020 or so then another few weeks to get down to near 1.000. Increasing the ambient temperature will speed things up but at a cost of possibly blowing off flavour.

The mantra seems to be "low and slow".

Give it 3 or 4 more weeks if close to 60 F as I would recommend. Temperature will speed it up if that's what you care more about. My ciders often finish like 0.995, not 1.000. Don't add any more sugar, in fact I personally would not add any sugar at all. Nutrient might speed it up but personally I don't use any ever.