Thinking about kegging, couple of questions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fishing73

Reaction score
#1 Ball lock or pin lock? The ball lock is more expensive, is it any better than the pin lock?

#2 Thinking about getting a 2 or 3 tap fridge kegerator conversion kit from Keg connection. Do I need anything else when I order the kit? I want to be able to force carb and dispense beer at the same time.

Thanks a bunch!

I am new to kegging, but my understanding on your questions are:

Ball locks have a taller height and thinner diameter to them giving you more room for kegs in a fridge or keezer assuming height isn't an issue.

The ball lock kegs also have a pressure release valve which most pin lock kegs do not. The pressure valve can come in handy but is not necessary.

Most people recommend that you have at least 2x as many kegs as you plan to have on tap.

The ball lock kegs also have a pressure release valve which most pin lock kegs do not. The pressure valve can come in handy but is not necessary.

Come in handy, how?

I'm not familiar with pin-lock kegs, but a pressure release valve is pretty useful. It's just a little spring-loaded pin that you pull on to easily let the gas out. You could use it to quickly purge the keg of oxygen, or get rid of excess CO2 if you overcarbonate (or carbonate at a higher temperature than you serve).

as ball-locks are much more popular, you can get replacement parts easier. as far as ratios, i have 3 kegs on tap, and 9 kegs, so wrongguy is right in saying at least

Fishing73 said:
I want to be able to force carb and dispense beer at the same time.