The science of hop pitching

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pdrewcock

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm fairly new to the art of brewing. I have MADE beer for many years, but only recently begun to pay close attention to what I'm putting in it. ie: going beyond the basic recipe.
So I got to wondering in my double IPA fog, if boiled hops are for bittering, and dry hopping is for aroma, why are some recipes written to pitch hops 1/2 an oz at a time 10 minutes apart in the boil starting from 60 minutes until flameout. Is this actually an art or just a whim? Sometimes it just seems random, and in fact I watched a video where the brewers rolled dice for the times that the hops were pitched. Why aren't all the hops pitched at 60 minutes to maximize efficiency? Am I being kinda crude here? Maybe my tastebuds aren't fully developed yet.
Cheers! Pete D.:drunk:

Curious about this myself. I would think it must be that it's not just about extraction. The hop oils change over time and you get different degrees/layers of hop bitter and aroma flavors. Wondering about what someone with more science behind this has to say.

Welcome to HBT pdrewcock.

Somebody among this crowd of great brewers will give a better explanation than mine. Thank goodness.

Hops are added at different times for a reason. The ones thrown in as soon as the boil starts are called bittering hops. The ones thrown in halfway through impart some flavor and the ones at the end give IPAs especially the nice aroma. (I could have these last two turned around) Point is, the longer the hops are in the boil the more they contribute to bittering and less to flavor and aroma. So there are various hops scheduling times dependent on the required taste of the beer.

Welcome to HBT pdrewcock.