The Dangers of themed ingredients: any red flags here?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pilafdm

Reaction score
Hi, folks!

When feeling experimental, I get a kick out of using themes in my recipes. This time, I thought I'd use stuff with as many "C"s as possible, and invoke some lame office humor.

Problems with this:
1. This removes rhyme or reason from a flavor standpoint, and
2. I'm not experienced enough to know how to take a "challenging" list of ingredients and pull an Iron Chef (Iron Brewmaster?) and wring something awesome out of it.

Essentially, I'll be relying on luck, and I just want to have fun with this.

Before I go through with it, though, I was hoping folks might check out whether there're any huge red flags showing up (apart from the fact it's likely to be an odd brew). I'm particularly concerned with the possibility of accidentally bittering with hops that aren't great for bittering, and the possibility of just having a really funky ratio of malts.

That said, here it is:
"Could you C.C. Me on That?"

Any feedback?
Thank you!

Cheers,
P

Thanks! I posted the tentative recipe, already, though (and I'll make sure to use Canadian 2-row!). Any "OMG DO NOT DO THIS" moments in the recipe? :)

You really want ro get creative you also could go with clove and cardamon. Both of which, if you do use, use VERY sparingly as they have very aggressive flavors, especially clove.

The "C" hops actually play together rather well. Sounds like the makings of a good American Pale or American IPA. Alternatively, a California Common but without the focus on NB hops typical in the style.