Quantcast

Temperature Controller

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

uncleben113

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
526
Reaction score
17
Location
Louisville
I am looking for a temp controller. Brand doesn't necessarily matter but I would like one that can be programmed to heating as well as cooling.

The cheaper the better and local would be a plus but isn't required

Thanks for looking

:rockin:
 
OP
uncleben113

uncleben113

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
526
Reaction score
17
Location
Louisville
Both of those look good. I may wait for the review on the ebay one but I found the STC-1000 for $17.49 on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008KVCPH2/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

I am researching right now how to hook them up. I can't imagine it would be hard to set up but I have NO electrical experience.

Edit: I think I am going to go with the STC-1000. I think this will be a cool little project and I just bought my deep freezer yesterday so I am ready to get everything up and running. Thanks for your help!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
OP
uncleben113

uncleben113

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
526
Reaction score
17
Location
Louisville
Sweet. I think I have a firm understanding of this whole thing now. This may be a stupid question but how do I know which gauge to use for wire?
 

MaxStout

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
10,723
Reaction score
6,639
If you get the STC-1000, it switches up to a 10 amp load, so 14 gauge stranded will handle that ampacity. You can buy small spools of it at automotive stores.

BTW, keep in mind that the STC-1000 programs and displays in Celsius only. Not a big deal, as it can be programmed to a tenth of a degree C, so you can accurately dial it in to the equivalents of the Fahrenheit temps you want.

Edit: A lot of people like to mount their temp controller in a small project box. You can find them on Amazon for $5-$6, typically about 6"x6"x4" or so. You can mount an ordinary 120V duplex outlet in the box for plugging in the heating/cooling devices. Be sure to break off the jumper link that connects the two outlets, so they are powered independently.
 
OP
uncleben113

uncleben113

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
526
Reaction score
17
Location
Louisville
Thanks for the info. I'm still learning. And Celsius is not a problem. I'll print off a chart for easy reference
 

reefriot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
224
Reaction score
18
Location
Redmond
I used a triple remodel gang box from HD as it was deep enough to get the STC-1000 into with wires. I think i had an old extension cord i cut up for power plug and wiring but all parts were under 12 bucks from HD.
 
OP
uncleben113

uncleben113

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
526
Reaction score
17
Location
Louisville
I used a triple remodel gang box from HD as it was deep enough to get the STC-1000 into with wires. I think i had an old extension cord i cut up for power plug and wiring but all parts were under 12 bucks from HD.
Nice. I don't know what box I am using but there is a video on youtube explaining the wiring process and I might just use the size that he uses. I think I want two outlets for hot and cold though to give myself the flexibility in the future. Here is the video:

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top