Quantcast

Temperature Controller

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

uncleben113

Reaction score
I am looking for a temp controller. Brand doesn't necessarily matter but I would like one that can be programmed to heating as well as cooling.

The cheaper the better and local would be a plus but isn't required

Thanks for looking

:rockin:

OP
uncleben113

uncleben113

Reaction score
Both of those look good. I may wait for the review on the ebay one but I found the STC-1000 for $17.49 on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008KVCPH2/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

I am researching right now how to hook them up. I can't imagine it would be hard to set up but I have NO electrical experience.

Edit: I think I am going to go with the STC-1000. I think this will be a cool little project and I just bought my deep freezer yesterday so I am ready to get everything up and running. Thanks for your help!

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
uncleben113

uncleben113

Reaction score
Sweet. I think I have a firm understanding of this whole thing now. This may be a stupid question but how do I know which gauge to use for wire?

MaxStout

Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
If you get the STC-1000, it switches up to a 10 amp load, so 14 gauge stranded will handle that ampacity. You can buy small spools of it at automotive stores.

BTW, keep in mind that the STC-1000 programs and displays in Celsius only. Not a big deal, as it can be programmed to a tenth of a degree C, so you can accurately dial it in to the equivalents of the Fahrenheit temps you want.

Edit: A lot of people like to mount their temp controller in a small project box. You can find them on Amazon for $5-$6, typically about 6"x6"x4" or so. You can mount an ordinary 120V duplex outlet in the box for plugging in the heating/cooling devices. Be sure to break off the jumper link that connects the two outlets, so they are powered independently.

OP
uncleben113