Targeting a dry IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

jtompkin

Reaction score
I'm trying to make a dry IPA that is at about 7% abv. I'm new to all grain brewing. My first AG batch was good but is a little on the sweet side. The FG came in at was 1.012 but I wanted the beer that was a little less sweet.

I had this beer on primary for 5 days with the secondary at 15 days. To dry it out, my plan on my next attempt is to go 7 days on pri, and 21 on sec.

Is this adding a good plan?

I should also mention I keg the beer. Another thought I had was to keg it at 15 lbs @ 70 deg to let it finish out.

What do you think I should do?
JTBrewing

HopNutz

Reaction score
If you want a dryer IPA, substitute a portion of the base malt for dextrose. Maybe 5-10%. You could also mash a degree or two lower as well.

OP
J

jtompkin

Reaction score
Thanks for the advice. I'll share the recipe when I get back to my notes.

brewmeister13

Reaction score
Remember that hops can also provide a perceived sweetness. Pliny the Elder finishes around 1.011 and it is a classical example of dry IPA.

OP
J

jtompkin

Reaction score
That's a good point. I'll take another look at my hop selection. Thanks.

jro238

Reaction score
As others have pretty much said, final gravity has everything to do with recipe, mash temp, and yeast health/pitch size and very very little to do with fermentation time.