Summer beers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewhaha_rva

Reaction score
I started brewing last fall and love it. I've probably brewed 15, 5-gallon batches at this point. Most have turned out really well (minus the hefe-disaster that I won't talk about here). I've been pumped about that. I've moved on to all-grain brewing from extract, which I've really liked as well.

Partly that's because my basement stays rather cool for nine months out of the year, never creeping above 72. But Richmond summers are coming and I don't want to stop brewing. Any suggestions for styles of beer that can withstand higher temperatures during the summer months? I think the basement will probably get into the low 80s in the afternoons, though that's just a guess and it probably will stay well below that most of the time.

Thanks in advance!

I have a petite siason in the fermenter right now. They ferment well in the 70's to 80's range. The petite version has a lower abv than its regular siason beers, and light for the summer. A French lawnmower beer.

Opps, Jason beat me to it

Your basement is going to be too warm for most ale yeasts as they like to throw off flavors and make fusel alcohol when fermented too warm.....so make a simple cooler and keep brewing what you like. A big tub of water to limit the temperature swings and absorb the heat of fermentation and some plastic bottles of water frozen that you can add from time to time to keep the temperature down. Insulating outside the tub will help too. You only need to control that temp for the first 3 to 5 days as the ferment is going strong. Once it slows you can let the beer warm up and it will be fine.

Saisons and some Belgians like the high 70's and low 80's.