Suggestions for first brew: True Brew kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johncyz

Reaction score
Hello,

I am completely new to this process, but a big fan of craft beer, and wanted to work on brewing my own beers. Thus far I've bought the following:

• Haier 5.0 Cubic Foot Freezer for Fermentation
  • 24qt. Aluminum Stock Pot
  • 24-inch Aluminum mixing spoon
  • 24 New Brown bottles
  • ST-1000 Temperature Controller with all accessories
  • Gold Complete Beer Equip. kit (K6)
  • True Brew Bavarian Hefeweizen kit

Any suggestions on some other things I may need before I begin brewing next Saturday? Any helpful tips on things to watch out for that are common issues for Newbies?

Thanks,
John Cyzycki

Check out the operation of the freezer and temp controller with a bucket of water. Tape an insulate the probe to the side of the bucket.
Get a plastic stir spoon. The aluminum one will just scratch the bottom of the kettle inviting scorching.
I think True Brew recipes recommend 4 or 5 days in the primary, been a while since I brewed one, then move to secondary. Plan a three week primary then bottle.
This will give you time to get more bottles. You'll need at least 48 bottles.
Did the kit come with a hydrometer? You will need one to know if fermentation has completed.
How will you cool the wort to yeast pitching temperature?
It is better to pitch into wort that is cooler than the fermentation temperature. Will work to pitch into warm wort, but there is the risk of off flavors from the yeast.
Do you have a good 11 gram pack of dry yeast to pitch? Will you rehydrate the yeast before pitching? If you use liquid yeast what is the viability? Will you need a starter for the liquid yeast before brew day?