Strike two.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smthgfshy

Reaction score
I have now failed twice to get a yeast starter going. I've done this before with great results so although I'm still a noob, I'm at least to second base. I'm using WLP568 Saison blend yeast.

Here's what I've done, twice:

Added 2 cups (500ml) of water to pot.
Added 1/2 cup DME.
Boiled for 10min.
Cooled to 75.
transferred to growler
Pitched 1 vial of WLP568.
covered top with foil and rubber band.
waited 36 hours with occasional stirring.....no action...no krausen..nothing

I thoroughly sanitized everything...pot, yeast vial, rubber band, growler, funnel, foil. My cabin temp is HIGHLY variable. Averages about 65 at chest height, 50ish at floor. Temp drops at night. Temp goes up when heater is on. Heater is either on or off. If I put starter in front of heater it will go up to about 150F, on top of heater 90F, 6 inches away 65F.

I'm 5 hours from my LHBS and have already spent $25 on yeast. I'd hate to use this starter if it's bad and ruin a batch.

What's going on????

Supposed to avoid the rubber band (from reading*, not experience). Your yeasties need the O2 in the air to propagate.

*p.285 Yeast Pitching Rates and Starters, Brewing Classic Styles, Zainasheff/Palmer

sounds like you are getting the starters too hot and pitching into 75 degree wort might not be a good idea either. those tiny yeasts don't like large swings in temperature, a 5-10 dregree change for them is huge. the krausen could have come and gone while you were asleep, in any event no krausen means nothing. are you seeing a whitish layer of yeast on the bottom of your container?