Stressed Yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewitt

Reaction score
I'm trying to make sense of a series of problems I've been having in a series of recent beers that haven't been a big issue previously. I am now attributing them to stressed yeast. I should say that I have been transitioning from brew-in-a-bag, which I have been doing for several years, to traditional mashing during this time. I don't think that has much, if anything to do with it because some of these issues bridge that transition. I should also say that, except for one circumstance that is noted below, I always grow starters, usually from large inoculations of pure yeast cultures of various types. My pitching rate is usually between 200 and 300 billion cells per 5 gallons. Next, all of the beers in question have been fermented in a modified refrigerator at 65-68F.

There are two issues that have reared their ugly heads.
First, I have had a number of poorly attenuated beers. Although some have been quite high gravity (1.08-1.09), others have been my typical 1.05-1.07 range. Most were fermented with WLP001 or similar (rescued from Ballast Point Sculpin). One, a 1.09 IPA, I tried to kickstart using a late addition WLP090 with relatively little success. The beer ultimately did mature into a very malty but not worty IPA that I have enjoyed drinking but it took nearly two months. Most of my fermentations are complete within 2 weeks and then conditioned and dry hopped as necessary. On those that were stuck, I have also tried bumping the temperature up to 70F after 5 days of fermentation with relatively little success.