Strange Things Happening with my Recent Brews...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vindikator49

Reaction score
Ok folks. I'm in need of some serious help.

I have been brewing all grain batches for approximately 5 years now and never come across what I've got going on now. I need help and fast.

My equipment is as follows:

10 Gallon circular cooler with false bottom
10 Gallon boil kettle
8 Gal. stainless HLT
Blichmann Therminator

I have always based recipes on a 65% efficiency.

Ok. So here we go...

I have brewed the following recipe on multiple occasions. Four times to be exact. It's a pale ale and the first three brews are as follows (with minor variations)...

Recipe -

10 lbs 2 Row
1 lb Cara 10L
1 lb Cara 20L

I mashed 3.75 gallons into the cooler at 164F, which brought my mash to 149F. My pH was 5.1. The duration of my mash was 60 minutes. I conducted a vorlauf for approximately 10 minutes and then sparged with 170F water for about 20-25 minutes (fly sparge).

My boil volume was just under 7.5 gallons. I conducted a 60 minute boil adding an ounce of hops at 30 minutes, half an ounce at 10 minutes, and half an ounce at 2 minutes left in the boil. I threw in a whirl floc tablet with 15 minutes left in the boil.

I pitched my yeast, WLP060, at 72 degrees.

Ok. SO the first three times I brewed this guy it came out to 1.050 +- .001. Pretty close to what I'm looking for. This last time I brewed it, comes out to 1.040 and finished at 1.004.

Next beer I brew. Similar grist, coming in at 11.5 lbs. Mashes at 150. OG comes out to 1.040 when target was again 1.050.

Beer I just brewed. Grist is at 10.3 lbs. I have brewed THIS beer at least 4 other times as well. What's my gravity after getting it into the fermenter? 1.032.