Stout Recipe - Extract

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stldrum

Reaction score
I have made three batches of beer and my last Stout turned out horrid. I am in need of a recipe, something not as dry as a Guiness, but I want to use extracts and hops. I can do some grains but don't want to get into roasting and the like unless I need to. I'm a noob.

Suggestions? :drunk:

you can buy the specialty grains already roasted from most brew shops (chocolate malt, roasted barley, black barley, etc.) That's going to add the flavor that is characteristic of stouts (that roasted, bitter-ish taste.)

I'll leave an actual recipe to someone else, but don't fear grains. They will take you to a new level of brewing and give you infinite combinations that you can use to make a wide spectrum of beers.

-walker

Check out this Stout Thread . I had posted it a while back, and there are a number of stouts in there. I have one of them in the primary right now. Tasted good out of the pot, but it is going to be really strong (measured 1.090 OG) so I will be letting it age a little to mellow before I drink it.

The one I did was an extract with grains. I bought loose grains, and steeped them loose and sparged them. It was only my third batch ever, and the procedure was not bad- My execution left a little to be desired; Mental note when brewing stouts- boilovers are messy!!

I remember that thread - which one did you choose? Is it naturally a high OG or did you do something different i the process? Any suggestions that will help me avoid pitfalls you went through?

Thx