Storage Of Bulk Grains

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Terek

"Did I just drop down a rabbit hole?"
Reaction score
Hello all. I have been brewing for a few years and have always rented homes to live in. I always hated brewing half in the kitchen and half in the garage, due to space issues. Well, i finally got my company making money (took 4 years) and bought an acre farm out in the country. I have always dreamed of having a dedicated "brew room". Now i am in the process of building one from my dreams in my new shop. I am trying to design a grain storage system, because i would like to keep many types of grain on hand so i can brew whatever, whenever.

The set up i would like is whenever i want to brew something, just buy 5 lbs of everything i need (minus the base grain, will be buying 50 lb bags) and have enough for 3 or 4 more of that brew later. Only issue is some of these grains might be sitting in their storage containers for up to, mabe even over, a year.

My question is how long are whole un ground grains good for? What to store them in? And should i even persue this setup? Will it be worth it?

My LHBS has 2-row 50lb bags for $37, and they give you a 15% discount on all specialty grains bought in 5lb or more increments. So the savings will be great. But, can an un crushed grain stay fresh for over a year?

FYI i will be posting, on another thread, pics coming up of the brew room build. Gonna take a bit, but its gonna be awesome!