starting a siphon

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tbulger

Reaction score
i suck at racking (pun intended) is there any way to start a siphon with a turkey bastor?

actually while im at the racking process does any one else have trouble connecting the hose to the racking cane and the spigot on the bottling bucket? its a pita for me and i feel like i may break my bottling spigot.

I've never used the spigot to rack before, the yeast builds up in there anyway. Just put the cane into the bucket (attach the hose first so you don't stir up the yeast, warm water helps) and attach the other end of the hose to the cane inserted through the carboy cap. Suck in on the other side of the carboy cap and wah-lah, instant siphon. I use the reverse method when going from the carboy to the keg/bottle. (blow in the other side) You will need a second racking cane for this but it's cheap insurance.

The easiest way to start a siphon is with an auto-siphon. One of the few cheap gadgets that really works.

To attach the hose to the cane, soak the hose in hot water for a few minutes to make it pliable. It then goes on much more easily.

-a.

My brother and I had a really, really, frustrating experience with racking today. Racking from the Ale Pail to the carboy was cake. Today we tried to rack from the carboy to a bucket with a spigot for bottling, and the siphon kept dying. The cane was too long and at too steep of an angle to keep a siphon. We had to tip the carboy over to get a siphon, so we pretty much wasted two weeks of clarifying in the carboy. The yeast was sloshing all over the place. We got our beer in bottles without wasting too much, but it was a real pita!

What were we doing wrong here? Did we need a longer hose or something?